Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Highest Israeli civilian award for Merkel

German Chancellor Angela Merkel has been awarded Israel's highest civilian honour ,the "Medal of Distinction" yesterday evening for her unwavering commitment to the country.
Israeli President Shimon Peres awarded Merkel the honor at a ceremony in Jerusalem.
The President's Medal (also called the Medal of Distinction) is the highest civil medal given by the State of Israel. It was first presented on March 1, 2012 in Beit HaNassi by the President of Israel, Shimon Peres. It was awarded to six people "who have made an outstanding contribution to the State of Israel or to humanity, through their talents, services, or in any other form."

Henry Kissinger, 2012
Judith Feld Carr, 2012
Rashi Foundation, 2012
Rabbi Adin Even Yisrael, 2012
Zubin Mehta, 2012
Uri Slonim, 2012
Barack Obama, 2013
Bill Clinton, 2013
Elie Wiesel, 2013
Rabbi Yitzchak Dovid Grossman, 2014
Lia Van Leer, 2014
Avi Naor, 2014
Rabbi Avraham Elimelech Firer, 2014
Brig.-Gen. Avigdor Kahalani, 2014
Avner Shalev, 2014
Dr. Harry Zvi Tabor, 2014
Jack Mahfar, 2014
Angela Merkel, 2014